Kenny Page

Updates to display of results when searching for users

As part of Release 24.3 deployed on Saturday the 22nd April 2017, the way in which individual results are displayed when searching for users has been slightly updated, as described below.

In line with other features, a new button entitled “Select User” has been added at the far right of each result, replacing the link that was previously formed by the users name.  The tooltip that was previously accessible by hovering over the users name remains accessible, by hovering over the new “Select User” button.

An information icon has been introduced immediately following the users name that when clicked/tapped opens the “user information card”, providing quick access for both mouse and touch screen users to view the users details without fully opening the user account.

 

 

Fig 1 - BeforeFig 1: Before

Fig 2 - After

Fig 2: After

“No OpenID endpoint found” error creating new link from NHS ePortfolios to e-LfH accounts

UPDATE: 9th November 2016, 8pm.  We have now received notification from e-LfH that the OpenID endpoint has been restored and as such users will once again be able to establish links between their NHS ePortfolios user account and e-LfH user account.

The NHS ePortfolios team are aware that users will presently encounter issues when attempting to establish a new link between an NHS ePortfolios account and an e-LfH user account to enable the exchange of Learning Activity data.

When attempting to establish the links, users are presently witnessing an error message within NHS ePortfolios stating “No OpenID endpoint found”, as shown below:

NHS ePortfolios - No OpenID Endpoint found error.

This issue has arisen following an application upgrade at e-LfH at the end of last week and the e-LfH team are working to resolve this as quickly as they can:

e-LfH OpenID error

If you have already established a link between your NHS ePortfolios account and your e-LfH user account, the ongoing exchange of Learning Activity data will not be affected by this issue.

 

 

Updated Location and Progamme Choosers

Within NHS ePortfolios, there are many occasions where you need to select a location from our “location tree”, e.g. when searching for an individual, or when configuring programmes/posts.

On Saturday the 12th March 2016, Location and Programme choosers were updated to make them quicker and easier to use, particularly on touch screen based devices.

Historically, selecting a location was a two step process.  First, you had to select the top most location in one field, then a second field appeared immediately below which contained the “location tree” itself, from which the location could then be selected:

location-chooser-before

Both of these elements have now been combined into a single chooser that is applied consistently throughout the site:location-chooser-after

To use the new chooser, simply click or tap in the field, and the chooser will appear, then:

  • To expand the location tree, click upon the triangles to the left of the tree items.
  • To select a location, click the round radio button.
  • To de-select locations, click the “clear” button.

Permissions

There will be no changes to the locations to which you have permissions as a result of this change.

The new chooser will contain all locations to which you previously had permission – if previously you had two items in the first field, the new chooser will contain two top level items in a single tree via which you can access all the child locations to which you previously had permission.

Programme Chooser

The programme chooser has also been updated and now behaves in the same manner as the location chooser.

Updated Timeout Behaviour

Much like with other web based services such as online banking, if you do not interact with NHS ePortfolios for an extended period you are automatically logged out to preserve the security of your account.  The amount of time before this occurs is called the “timeout period”.  For NHS ePortfolios, the timeout period is 60 minutes.

Previously, when using a form within NHS ePortfolios, 5 minutes before the timeout period was reached, a small alert window would open, encouraging you to interact to extend the timeout period for a further 60 minutes.

This alert window would not be displayed if the timeout period was reached when viewing other areas of the service such as curricula, messaging, ticketing etc.  Furthermore, the alert window would not be displayed if you had enabled the “Prevent this page from creating additional dialogs” feature in browsers such as Google Chrome (full details on why you would not want to enable that feature can be read here: https://nhseportfolios.zendesk.com/hc/en-gb/articles/207560513).

As such, we have entirely re-engineered this functionality to make it more user friendly and this will be implemented as part of Release 21.0, on Saturday the 12th March 2016

As before, a warning message will be displayed 5 minutes before the timeout period is reached, but it will now be displayed irrespective of what area of the service the user was using before they left it unattended.  The new warning message is much more obvious to the user and clearly states it purpose:  Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 09.02.05

The warning message contains a countdown timer and, if you do not interact with the warning message, you will be automatically logged out and directed to a page that confirms that this has occurred:

timeout-message2

ePortfolio Messaging Incident – 4th November 2015

The NHS ePortfolios system contains a facility called “messaging”.  This facility allows users of NHS ePortfolios to send messages to other users without leaving the NHS ePortfolios system. In addition to allowing trainees and their supervisors to exchange messages, the facility also allows programme directors and administrators to communicate with groups of users to which they have been assigned permissions.  No messages are filtered/censured based upon content.

The NHS ePortfolios messaging facility is not an email replacement or email relay service.  Users’ email addresses are not required for the use of, and not disclosed by, the messaging facility.  If a user receives a message within this facility whilst not logged in, the NHS ePortfolios system will send a one-time notification to the users’ email address informing them that they have an unread message they may wish to check when they next-login.

On the 4th November at 10:18am, an NHS ePortfolios user with the “Physician Administrator” role, chose to use the NHS ePortfolios messaging system to send a message with two attachments to all users of the “Physician Trainee” role within the location to which they have been assigned permission (approx. 550 recipients).

The ability of the user to send a message to this audience is by design – no security system was subverted to allow this message to be sent and the message was not sent/delivered to an audience to whom the user did not have appropriate permissions.

Upon receipt by users, the “sender name” was correctly displayed as that of the user that sent the message – the sender name was not obfuscated in any manner.

Need help?
If you are having a problem with you NHS ePortfolio account please contact the Support team via the Help section of you account, or email us at support@nhseportfolios.org
Archives
Categories